| IEEE Xplore Digital Library | IEEE Standards | IEEE Spectrum | More Sites
Close this search box.

Editorial Leadership

IEEE Press is led by a volunteer community comprised of the IEEE Press Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Press Editorial Board, IEEE Press Series Editors, and the IEEE Press Society Liaison.


Sarah Spurgeon

University College London, UK
Current term as Editor-In-Chief: 2022-2023; 2024-2025


Sarah Spurgeon

Sarah Spurgeon (F’20) received her B.Sc. and D.Phil. degrees from the University of York, UK in 1985 and 1988, respectively. She has held previous academic positions at the University of Loughborough, the University of Leicester and the University of Kent in the UK and is now Professor of Control Engineering and Head of Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering at UCL in the UK. Sarah’s research interests are in the area of systems modelling and analysis, robust control and estimation in which areas she has published over 300 research papers. She was awarded the Honeywell International Medal for ‘distinguished contribution as a control and measurement technologist to developing the theory of control’ in 2010 and an IEEE Millennium Medal in 2000.

About the Role of the Editor-in-Chief

The IEEE Press Editor-in-Chief is responsible for overseeing the editorial board and chairing annual board meetings. The Editor-in-Chief works with IEEE Press staff, Wiley staff and members of the IEEE Press Editorial Board to identify potential book projects and is the final authority on acceptance or rejection of manuscripts. The Editor-in-Chief also represents the IEEE Press Editorial Board on the IEEE Publication Services and Products Board (PSPB).

Editorial Board 2023

The primary responsibility of the IEEE Press Editorial Board is to provide technical and scientific expertise in the development of world-class, technical books. Board members work on a continuing basis with the IEEE Press Editor-in-Chief and professional acquisitions editors to recruit authors, review their proposals, and assist in identifying technical reviewers of proposals and complete book manuscripts.

Tony Quek 1

Tony Queck
Singapore University of Technology and Design

Joydeep Mitra 1

Joydeep Mitra
Michigan State University,

Ekram Hossain 1

Ekram Hossain
University of Manitoba, Canada

Amin Moeness
Moeness Amin
Villanova University,
HL 2018 s 54
Hai Li
Duke University,
kri jon atli
Jon Atli Benediktsson
University of Iceland,
Thomas Robertazzi

Tom Robertazzi
Stony Brook University, USA

Adam Drobot

Adam Drobot ​
OpenTechWorks Inc., USA

Jiim Duncan Lavitt 4750 R

James Duncan
Yale University, USA


Diomidis Spinellis
Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece

brian johnson

Brian Johnson
University of Idaho, USA


Behzad Razavi
University of California Los Angeles, USA


James Lyke
Air Force Research Laboratory’s Center for Rapid Innovation, USA

Naidu Desineni

Desineni “Subbaram” Naidu
University of Minnesota Duluth, USA

graphic element

Introducing Our Series Editors and Society Liaisons

Our Series Editors find authors who will advance scholarly research and publish these works in their field of expertise.

Our society liaisons identify qualified authors from their society and ensure their society is well represented in the publishing world.